1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Want to buy Punto MJD EP but......

Discussion in 'Car Purchase Queries' started by mahen.jnk, May 28, 2011.

1. mahen.jnk

mahen.jnk Novizio

Hyderabad
    I have been using Indica (2000, 2002 and 2006 models) for last 10 years, M800 prior to Indicas with Amby being the first vehicle bought in 1991. All diesels except M800. Though I didn't face any issues with the indicas, their Service and taxi image made me look for a new car; must be a diesel but not from Tata for obvious reasons. My budget is 7L but will be able stretch upto 10L for linea. If not linea I would stick to hatch in 7L range.

I considered Swift, Punto and I20 but ruled out swift as current model is going to get phased out. I20 is also dropped due to its AC problem, turbo lag and higher cost. This leaves me with Punto or wait till Aufgust 2011 for new Swift.

We all liked the Punto very much and I am quite impressed with its city drivability and features in E-Pk.

What is making me take the back step with Punto is there have been lot complaints on the net with spares being not available, lack of expertise in the service stations, Fiat-India's financial position. I also read somewhere that Fiat India may go bankrupt anytime with huge losses being reported year after year. The reason for this suspicion being they may not be able to survive with just 2K vehicle per month. I want to keep the car for at least 6-7 years and I don't want it to go like the Cielo or Matiz way.

So I need your views before deciding..

1) Is it really a problem with fiat's spares and service? I live in Hyderabad.
    2) Do we need to leave the vehicle in the service center till the part is arrived from Pune? It sometimes take months as seen in several posts on the net.
    3) What will happen to existing fiat vehicles if they stop production and close the factory in India.

-M