1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Traveling to Ooty

Discussion in 'Travelogues & Experiences' started by mayurshah, Jul 30, 2013.

1. mayurshah

mayurshah Amatore

Banagalore
    This 15 August I am planning a trip to ooty from Bangalore, Kindly suggest me on following points.
    1) which is the best route from Bangalore ( I have mapmy india gps device)
    3) Places not to b missed in ooty
    2) Will be driving ghat for the 1st time..pls give important tips as I have heard it has 32 hair pin bends
    3) Before journey what things to be checked on my Mjd Punto

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
  2. zenwalker

zenwalker Esperto

Bangalore
    I never been to ooty nor i am an good/expert driver.

All i wish to say is: Drive safe, in corners/hair pins honk 1s or twice to make sure morons dont come your way when you are climbing. While driving down, never switch off engine to save fuel. When tired, lay by and take rest :)

Ooty now is really good place but very cold. One of my friend visited there just 2 weeks back. Its really cold, but romantic weather :D

Btw there is an article here about preparations for long drive. Please read it. If cant find here, def at TeamBHP.
  3. mayurshah

mayurshah Amatore

Banagalore
    Thanks zen , will check team bhp

4. J Ravi

J Ravi Esperto

Bangalore
    Bangalore>Mysore>Gundlupet>Bandipur>Masinagudi>Ooty. MMI also shows the same route. The roads are good. Please note that Bandipur road is closed from 9 pm to 6 am daily. So, plan accordingly.
    Botonical gardens, Dodda Betta, boating on the lake and Sims park, Coonoor.