1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Summer = More AC usage = Less power = :( Please help!

Discussion in 'Technical' started by meples, Apr 21, 2014.

1. meples

meples Novizio

Bangalore
    Grande Punto 1.2
    Hi,

I recently got dropped off from a party in my friend's Hyundai Eon. Impressive little car it is and what really impressed me was the fact that we were five of us in it (AC on all the time) and it puttered around beautifully well. My point here is, I wouldn't be so confident in my Punto 1.2 with five people inside it with full AC on, driving around town effortlessly. It's a different matter that I'm a new driver, but my Punto with only 2 people inside and AC switched on feels like a huge dead load. So what I want to ask you is -

1. Is it a normal for all Puntos (or any car) or the 1.2 to lose power when the AC is switched on? It didn't feel that way in the Eon.

2. I know the 1.2 FIRE engine (specifically speaking) is the weaker of the lot. But it's got more power that the puny Eon. So why does it feel so sluggish with the AC on?

3. With the onset of summers the use of AC will definitely increase (the case with all of us). So are there any hacks/tips/methods that I can apply to efficiently use my AC without losing power?

I have Googled the topic up and found a few good reads on (rather) how to cool your car quickly during the intense summer heat (links below):

How do you cool down a hot interior?

HowStuffWorks "How to Cool Your Vehicle Quickly During the Intense Summer Heat and Reduce Your Carbon Emissions"
    Cool Down a Scorching Car as Quickly as Possible

I love my car otherwise and have been fairly happy driving it :)

Looking forward to your replies guys.
  2. zenwalker

zenwalker Esperto

Bangalore