1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Project Linea T-Jet Sport : Cruise Control now active!

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by PatchyBoy, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. ramjn

    ramjn Staff Member Janitor

    Messages:
    5,243
    Chennai
    Linea 1.3
    I got the Hex dump after the AT MA command. But it timed out quickly.

    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT I
    ELM327 v1.5

    >AT MA
    00 80 80 52 00 00 00 00
    00 00 00 64
    00 80 80 52 00 00 00 00
    14 10 2F 09 00 01 09 10
    20 01 01 00 00 00 00 00
    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    00 00
    00 80 80 52 00 00 00 00
    1 person likes this.
  2. Viny

    Viny Esperto

    Messages:
    1,742
    :)
    ramjn, if you press enter or click anywhere the dump ends.
  3. bbllaazzee

    bbllaazzee Amatore

    Messages:
    83
    Bangalore
    Here is my progress on FIRE 1.4 16v

    Last week I got the KKL/VAG COM cable(925/-) thinking that would be enough, but I was wrong. The motive behind buying that in eBay was to get the FiatECUScan along with it, but it ended up being a FREE restricted software:evil:, which I could have downloaded online. Anyways the KKL was with a multi-switch one, so hope it will be useful for some of the access.
    IMG_20130926_135721.jpg

    Yesterday got the ELM 327 shipped from eBay for 1450/- and as expected did not work straight forward, so went ahead opened it up and with a thought that I might lose the money, knocked the 121 ohm resistor connecting the IC MCP2551 PIN 6&7. But did a search in the multiecuscan forum to ensure that the PCB present in my ELM connector was same, though could not find one exactly:confused:, atleast there was only one 121 ohm resistor connecting the mentioned PINs. Now connected the modified ELM to the OBD port and voila, it worked :cool:.
    IMG_20131012_151317.jpg
    It was night, so packed up and decided to start the next day with the ECU work.
    Today being pooja day and wife busy with Pooja, I have all time to sit with my car :dance. So started working on my car at 11 am after finishing the requests from home needs.

    Tools
    1. Sewing needle
    2. Automotive grade wire. Had a battery connector wire(with clips to battery at one end) that came with my power convertor (12V to 110V)
    3. ELM 327
    4. Laptop with Multiecuscan
    5. Cell phone - to take photos or record video, as I am the only person, so have to record the instrument panel changes when I work at the hood.
    6. Loads of patience and courage (not to fry the ECU or accept it is fried)

    My wire to connect ECU and battery
    IMG_20131012_163018.jpg

    Safety pin for removing the dummy plug and the very helpful sewing needle.
    IMG_20131012_163045.jpg

    With the multiecuscan and the ELM 327 tried the CC light test and it worked, so the cable is working and I am able to test it. Now went ahead and tried to enable the cruise control from CAN setup/Proxy Alignment as mentioned by Rajan. Tried both Stilo JTD and Idea 1.4 16V. And saw that it is already enabled (Rajan enabled it last time when we tried it on my car) hmm...so the use of ELM is over now (1450/- for this :evil:)

    Then I went ahead and opened the hood and removed the -ve terminal first. As per the instructions on Page 13/14 I removed the ECU adapter counted 58 in proper direction.

    Recap for FIRE 1.4 16v (as per Bravo/idea eLearn) the pins are

    58 -> ON/OFF
    41 -> RESUME
    8 -> +/SET
    9 -> -/SET

    Now inserted the sewing needle so it is visible on the other end of the adapter, then fixed the adapter to the ECU. Now connected the -ve terminal and one clip of my automotive grade wire to +ve terminal of the battery and the other end which is a ring was around the projecting sewing needle. With this setup I turned on the key and no sign of cruise in the instrument panel. Totally disappointed and went back reading the Polish post again with google translate, saw Rajan posts in Polish as well (good reading of the last few pages in that Polish thread).

    Now I again went to the car and tried various other lights tests using the Multiecuscan, interested to see the brake wear light. I then connected to the Engine ECU (Me 7.9.1) using Idea 1.4 16v or Linea 1.4 16v TJet as the vehicle(both works), though it reported that the ISO code is incorrect/invalid, I went ahead. Did some tests like coolant temp, engine temp, Clutch position etc. Then found an interesting test "Motorised Accelerator test" which made me think, if this works then Cruise should be present, as this motor is what needed for cruise to control speed. Went ahead and test it and could hear the accelerator motor sound and it completed successfully. This gave me a boost to test further other items. But the PIN 58 was not working and no display in MID, but I was confident that even if I do not get it in MID cruise will work if I put the control stalk. But without confirmation of the PINS there is no point in buying the control stalk. Sometimes it crossed my mind if I should ask Rajan to lend the stalk ;) for a day or two.

    Now based on the response for Rajan's MJD query in the Polish website, I went head and disabled the Cruise control in CAN setup and enabled again using Idea 1.4 8v, but again the PIN 58 test failed. So not sure if the above change is of any use.

    Anyways again back to the wiring diagrams from eLearn. I was staring at the wiring diagram and suddenly some thing striked, only the input pins are unknown for us, but as per the wiring diagram there are output pins to the Body computer, so let me check if those wires are present. So went and checked if PIN 11 and PIN 43 has wires, but to my dismay only PIN 11 had the wire and not PIN 43. This led to a semi conclusion that PIN 58 is not correct:evil:.

    Then I was thinking hard on what can be the issue, if the accelerator motor is working, then there should be a way..I was telling myself...think hard....

    Then another thing striked, both FIRE ECU and TJet ECU are same Me 7.9.10, so let me check the TJET wiring diagram, opened up the Bravo eLearn and checked the wiring diagram, which is posted in one of the pages in this thread. The output pins are 88 and 89, then I checked for the PINS in the ECU, voila those are there. Now the ECU fry test of connecting 12V to PIN 85. Now back to the hood, remove -ve terminal, remove the ECU adapter counted the pin 85 multiple time and also made sure the rest of the PINS(connection to the stalk) are also empty.

    Connected the adapter back with the sewing needle in PIN 85, -ve terminal connected and the 12V +ve is connected via my wire to the sewing needle. With all prayers and hope of not frying my ECU, went and turned on the Keys...to my gut feeling, voila the Cruise control light comes on and the message in MID. Yes, yes, yes...finally cruise in my car. Rajan I will reach you for rest of the assistance as soon as my stalk arrives (for the clips and other items). A big thank you for Rajan's motivation.

    IMG_20131012_145307.jpg

    I really felt stupid to not try the TJet pins knowing the ECUs are same and got carried away with the eLearn wiring diagram, anyways...now its ON.

    I am not creating a new Thread, since the ECU is same, we can mention the ECU in the title and add a "/" between Linea and Tjet ;)

    Now ordered the stalk for 24 pounds...worth the wait.
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2013
    11 people like this.
  4. PatchyBoy

    PatchyBoy Esperto

    Messages:
    2,438
    Bangalore
    Congratulations. At last, I get dethroned from having the only FIAT with CC in India. Great going buddy. Now get that stalk and let us get it working in your car. :clap :clap

    Rajan
    1 person likes this.
  5. saugatchandra

    saugatchandra Novizio

    Messages:
    25
    Navi Mumbai
    That is great news, the other day i had checked my ECU and it had a marking saying that it is indian version. i had almost given up...
    Now i am charged up again.. do let me know how i can start experimenting on my 1.3 MJD..

    :clap:clap
    1 person likes this.
  6. bbllaazzee

    bbllaazzee Amatore

    Messages:
    83
    Bangalore
    You still own the title Rajan for the first and I am more a addon. Yours is the first TJet with CC and mine First FIRE with CC, if I can say so.
    Yes ordered the stalk and it is on the way, expected sometime 3rd week of Oct, as soon as it comes, I will pester you to get it fixed :)

    - - - Merged Post - - -

    Don't give up, just follow the instructions on Page 11-14 given by Rajan.
    Learning is that first check the output wires in the ECU if those are present, then do the test. Not sure if the wiring diagram for MJD is posted here, I know the pins are mentioned. If not I will post the wiring diagram(s) available with me.
    1 person likes this.
  7. PatchyBoy

    PatchyBoy Esperto

    Messages:
    2,438
    Bangalore
    Finally got the ATMA command working. Ran and recorded for a minute to set a baseline. Then ran and captured multiple events individually, including Cruise Control. Here are the unique messages, not in baseline that were fired when I switched CC on and off, five times.

    [TABLE="class: grid, width: 500"]
    <tbody>
    Message
    Count

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]180 00 00 00 00 00 00
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]109
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]281 00 80 80 46 00 00 00 00
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]305
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]281 00 82 80 46 00 00 00 00
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]240
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]2A0 00 0
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]1
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]380 20 04 48 4B 00 55 0B 00
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]109
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]3E0 89 4B 00 00
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]55
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]683 14 27 13 10 20 13
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]27
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]700 00 0E 04 00 04 EB
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]28
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]707 00 0E
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]28
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]

    [TABLE="width: 172"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="class: xl65, width: 172"]70A 00 06
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [TABLE="width: 101"]
    <tbody>
    [TD="width: 101, align: right"]28
    </tbody>[/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    </tbody>[/TABLE]



    None of them got triggered exactly five times. Now, time to analyse and understand what these messages mean and how it works.

    @Viny - If you are able to provide some kind of guidance, it would be great.

    Rajan
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
    1 person likes this.
  8. Viny

    Viny Esperto

    Messages:
    1,742
    :)
    Patchyboy, good going :)

    Basically this is how we have to do
    1. Get a base line map for 5 seconds. (time it)
    2. Second time just put on the curise control and again log for 5 seconds (time it). (swith off curise control before making next run)
    3. Third time repeat the second step. we might need to repeat this again to find a pattern.

    Then we compare and see which set of unique value are seen and filter it ahead. If are going to perform any other action during the test then it would be hard to get the unique value of cruise control.

    Now in order to get best of data (more details) please follow this additional steps before starting the dump.

    => ATI
    ELM327 1.4


    => ATL1
    OK
    (Its sets Line feed to ON positions)

    =>ATH1
    OK
    (It sets messages Headers on giving more detail)

    =>ATS1
    OK
    (It prints relevant spaces (i think its by default on) no problem in giving this.)

    =>ATAL
    OK
    (It allows long 7 Byte messages)

    => ATSP0
    OK
    (It selects protocol automatically)

    => ATMA
    (Start dumping the data)


    Once we have found the unique value we have to break apart that unique value to find the components of it like Sender Receiver Data Status
    Once we have that we can fire the same to machine using ATSH <xx yy="" zz="" (on="" off)=""> format :) Voila ..</xx>
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
    2 people like this.
  9. PatchyBoy

    PatchyBoy Esperto

    Messages:
    2,438
    Bangalore
    Thanks Viny. Will do so when possible. This weekend is gone and I am off to Sabarimala next weekend. This may take a bit of time.

    Rajan
  10. ramjn

    ramjn Staff Member Janitor

    Messages:
    5,243
    Chennai
    Linea 1.3
    Congrats bbllaazzee. Happy to see that it is working in your 1.4 FIRE. Good going. :)
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page