1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Madhyamgram to Phulia on NH34

Discussion in 'Travelogues & Experiences' started by arichakra, Nov 18, 2010.

1. arichakra

arichakra

Kolkata
    Here I’m writing down my first travelogue of my first long (!) drive. I’m new to the world of driving, drove around 3000 KM only with my Punto MJD, so a 75KM * 2 is a long drive for me.

Phulia – Santipur region is a textile hub in Bengal & famous for its Tant & Jamdani sarees. It is believed (obviously by wifey, sisters etc) that sarees are LOTs of cheaper in Phulia than in Kolkata. It’s a common practice around our area to buy sarees from Phulia in bulk as here there is a chance to buy it directly from the producer. Wedding of my sister is scheduled & there is a requirement to procure lots of saree. I found it’s a great opportunity for me to drive on the famous NH34 & a weekend around the places. So let’s go.
    [attachment=12:10qm2xmt]Map.JPG[/attachment:10qm2xmt]

I started to search on the net for information about Phulia, its tant shops & road condition of NH43 for this stretch. Unfortunately not much information is available. West Bengal is not known to be a net-savvy state & it seems much behind then the national average. I could not find any online saree shop or other informative sites regarding that region. Google maps only revels a distance of around 66 KM of Phulia from my home but I was in dark about any specific shop/location after the 66 KM. Thought I’ll drive for 66KM & then ask local people if I could not get anything else. Although it’s not a good idea to ask local people in these type of situation (because you’ll certainly end-up to a broker or alike), but there was no alternative.