1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Linea Horn Switch Pad Issue - Resolved - Now Resurfaced

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by Viny, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. Viny

    Viny Esperto

    Messages:
    1,742
    :)
    Linea Horn Switch Pad Issue (Resolved)

    My Linea is 2009 Model and now stands out of warranty, One of the initial issue was that horn use to stop working, and during service the service team use to open the horn switch and clean up the rust on copper switch plates. As usual again the switch stopped working, i took it back to service center, but this time no amount of cleaning helped, as the entire copper wire circuit has caught rust at places where its open. Hence on pressing the switch the circuit doesnt get complete and horn is not activated. Thanks to poor quality of the product / copper circuit layout design.

    To add to the misery, the part cannot be replaced alone, i have to replace the entire airbag unit which costs above Rs. 20,000/- :(

    2lsb5ox.jpg

    What are my options ?

    1. Write to Fiat Service Team? Will they listen to out of warranty complains for there poor product quality?
    2. Buy a switch and make a jugad to get external horn switch?
    3. Buy a blow (pump/air) horn that old auto rickshaw drivers use, and blow them?
    4. Sell of the car and cut the losses as it has started showing bad teeths now.

    The boot lock also faces similar problem and it shows boot open message all the time :(

    Kindly suggest, things like this frustrates a lot, i have 40 yr old car and horn works without issue but his one is branded FIAT :(
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  2. mvb4u

    mvb4u Regolare

    Messages:
    384
    AndhraPradesh
    Guntur
    Grande Punto 1.3
    Write to Fiat service team and send scanned copies of past job cards.
  3. sungoa2010

    sungoa2010

    Messages:
    2,878
    Goa
    That is quite frustrating. Write to Fiat and and see what they have to say. At any cause it is not justifiable. It is not a rocket science. Fiat could have done it in a better way.
  4. speedJet

    speedJet Superiore

    Messages:
    856
    Gurgaon
    Take it to an electronics repair shop. An expert may be able to repair or do a jugaad
  5. PatchyBoy

    PatchyBoy Esperto

    Messages:
    2,438
    Bangalore
    If it is a jugaad then I am sure viny can do it himself. The question is, why should a component fail so soon and be irreparable / irreplaceable without replacing the whole setup of all other working (hopefully!!) more expensive components? This is totally unacceptable from a 10L + car.

    Rajan
  6. rajeev_pillai

    rajeev_pillai Regolare

    Messages:
    420
    Mumbai
    Kochi, Kerala
    Grande Punto 1.2
    Same issue is there with my car too. I have to open and clean the horn switch when in stops working. I normally do it once in 2-3 months.
    My car is 1.2 Active, so I can do any jugaad...

    regards,
    Rajeev
  7. vishnu's

    vishnu's Amatore

    For me its there in only the bottom switch..other 2 works fine. the bottom one needs a harder press.
  8. rishike007

    rishike007 Esperto

    Messages:
    1,416
    Mumbai-Pune
    Pune- Mumbai
    Grande Punto 1.2
    Show your problem to a horn specialist in your city. Explain him the situation & insure again that wheather he can make your horn woking.
    As your streering has air bags, this cost is more.

    one more, find old linea in scrap yard (chor bazar) in your city & take the essential componenet you want for jugad...... :)
  9. vIjAy_kHaSa

    vIjAy_kHaSa Esperto

    Messages:
    1,353
    Panchkula
    Mail Fiat service for help.
    Do you or your cleaner spray any liquid containg ammonia, salt etc on steering directly?
    Clean that switch with vinegar if that green coating(patina) is the problem it should start working after it's removed.
    I suspect your horn pad to be faulty and not the switch itself. It takes years to form that layer if your horn pad would have been making a good contact with that switch it would not have allowed to form that oxidation layer.

    Horn should actually work from atleat one of the points that haven't got that coating. That coating doesn't prevent copper under that coating to conduct electricity if that would have been case we all would have been without electricity in our houses by now.
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  10. Akshay4384

    Akshay4384 Superiore

    Linea poor quality horn switch costs Rs 20,000 :(

    Afaik,horn pad includes the airbag as well,and most of us know they dont come cheap.
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page