1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Is the no. of Cylinder the only criteria for a better diesel engine?

Discussion in 'Technical' started by Relativity, Jan 15, 2012.

1. Relativity

Relativity Superiore

Chennai
    I am new to cars and almost finalized to buy a Punto 2012.
    However, during elimination stage; I eliminated the VW Polo and Skoda Fabia purely based on feedback that a 4 cylinder Punto engine is way superior to a 3 cylinder engine in a Polo TDI or Fabia diesel. I like both the Polo and Fabia but I am not going to choose a car with inferior technology.

However, just wanted to be sure that despite being a 3 cylinder; the VW and Skoda are not technologically ahead by innovating something else.
    Please clarify.
  2. drifter

drifter Regolare

London/Mumbai
    The number of Cylinders is not the criteriawhether one engine is better than the other.

The advantage of the three cylinder engines over 4 cylinder engines is that they can be made more compact with the same cubic capacity. This means engines will be lighter and have less parts making the engine cheaper to produce at the same time. Also in the 3 cylinder the drag is less compared to 4 cylinder engines.

These are some of the reasons why manufacturers go from 4 to 3 cylinder engines and even beyond.
  3. PaddleShifter

PaddleShifter Staff Member Janitor

Chandigarh
    Grande Punto 1.3
    These days there are highly advanced 2 cylinder engines as well. FIAT has its own twinair engine.

Having said that, VW Polo and Skoda Fabia have a 3 cylinder engine. The negative side of a 3 cylinder engine is that since the number of cylinders are odd, they lead to lots of vibrations and are noisy even inspite of all the counter balancers etc used.