1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Hill driving for newbies

Discussion in 'Hangout' started by omzworld, Sep 30, 2011.

1. omzworld

omzworld

Hi friends,
    I am a newbie to driving and have bought Punto E MJD 15 days back.
    I have driven about 300KMs till date(highway + city), all in 'my fair lady' :). Enjoying a lot!

I am planning for a long trip next week to COORG. I suppose it wont be categorized as a hill station and dont think it has real ghat roads, so feel my 'new' Punto can take this.

Kindly provide any inputs that can help me on the trip. I will be having with me a friend who knows driving in ghats. So, I have my ass coverd in case of dificult situation.

Thanks guys,
    Omkar
  2. Ravi

Ravi Staff Member Janitor

Bangalore
    Grande Punto 1.3
    Yes COORG is not having any steep roads.
    And be sure Punto can go to steepest of gaht roads. Just not let the RPM goes below 2-2.5K. Downshift quickly if required. If it stops (it happens with so many drivers), don't worry, start and use 1st gear to go up. Shift -up the gear only when you have sufficient time to do so.

Enjoy hilly driving. You will love the composure of Punto on ghat section.
  3. Raj21

Raj21 Novizio

Secunderabad
    Yea ! Just gun it and enjoy it and don't shift higher than you absolutely have to !
  4. anoop

anoop Superiore

Cardinal rule of driving in hills - never carry more speed than you can handle. The chances for error correction is very less.

Always give way to vehicles which are climbing up.
    use correct gear while going up and while coming down. A general rule is, use the same gear or +1 while coming down (If you are climing using 2nd gear in a tight turn, use 2 or 3rd gear while driving down)

When drive down, do not ride clutch or breaks - make use of engine breaking. Being in correct gear gives you much better control than trying to shed speed using breaks alone.