1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Hello FIAT-ians

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by RMZ, Mar 19, 2013.

1. RMZ

RMZ

Cochin
    Hi Everyone,
    I'm happy to be part of the FIAT family. I'm a software professional based in Cochin. We bought our first new car and it was a FIAT. Though this decision was made entirely by my dad who is not an auto enthusiast like me. We were contemplating to buy a petrol hatchback below 6lacs and had shortlisted Swift, Polo, i20, Figo, Sail etc. My only choice among this list was Swift and I rejected all the others for one reason or the other. Dad had worked out his own logic to make a choice and initially went ahead with Sail. I hated this car so much that I had made up in my mind to not even bother to have a look at it when it comes home. It looked downright cheap and the insides looked two decades old. I gotta tell this here. When was the last time anyone saw the power window buttons placed ahead of the gear lever? I remember only Tata Indica/Indigo, but that was more targeted at taxi market and less at family buyers. The interiors screamed "cheap". Chevrolet was taking Indians for granted and the sales chart shows. To my luck, Chevrolet people said they have some production issues and hence will not be able to fulfill our booking. They refunded our booking amount. Dad's next choice was Punto which according to me was way better than Sail, though still not good. If we were looking at diesel, then I would rate Punto almost on par with the segment best, but in our case, dad was gonna buy the 1.2 Petrol which on paper looked so bad. Very low power-to-weight ratio was bothering me the most and I did my best to convince dad against this. I gave him many reasons like poor resale value, fit n finish not the best, service experience is still unknown with new dealers etc along with less power. But he was not gonna change his decision and I had to give up. So, Punto