1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Good deal or a bad deal

Discussion in 'Insurance & Loan Reviews' started by clash81, Mar 10, 2011.

1. clash81

clash81 Regolare

Bangalore
    I am newbie here and i am planning to buy a Fiat Punto 90hp. Moving on to my issue, I approached a dealer in Bangalore and he offered me a quote, I will reproduce the same here even though i am unsure if i am allowed to do so. As my knowledge about loans and other financial aspects is quite underwhelming, i hope some members here might help me out to understand, if am getting a decent deal here.

Loan Amount : 5,30000 and the loan is planned from SBI.
    Term : 60 mnths

The emi calculation provided is as follows.

1-12 = 11067 @ 9.25%
    13-36 = 11337 @ 10.25%
    37-60 =11602 @ 11.25%

All the interest rates are on a floating basis. I have no prior experience of owning a car or going in for a loan of this magnitude. Is this a good deal or a bad deal? Can i negotiate over this with the dealer and i if i am to negotiate, what should i do it over? ::O :anyone
  2. nkapoor777

nkapoor777 Regolare

New Delhi
    Have you found out what rates are being offered by other banks? If you can post some here, I will do the math and get back. Then you can decide how the the escalating rate offered by SBI stacks up against others which may be offering constant rates.
  3. clash81

clash81 Regolare

Bangalore
    @nkapoor777 : Thanks a lot for the reply. I am not interested in any other banks other than SBI, i am trying for some other nationalized banks too. Anyway, i got another quote from another dealer and that looks better and it is in line with loans some of my friends have already availed from SBI. I don't have all the details about the quote right now, i will surely update the thread with the information.

Once again thank you for the reply. :)
  4. royj

royj Esperto

Trivandrum