1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

First car - punto?

Discussion in 'Car Purchase Queries' started by drvanc, May 21, 2013.

1. drvanc

drvanc

Chennai
    Hi everyone,
    I am about to buy my first car and have zeroed in on punto 1.3 multijet. In fact I just learnt driving. Today while going through the magazine "auto car" I read their view about punto in the last few pages and saw that the negatives were "mediocre performance". I thought it could be a biased review or a 1.2 petrol's review (though they never mentioned which variant they were talking about). Then saw the exact same view written in "what car" magazine. I am now bit confused. Since I am a new driver I am not really able to find which one performs better or handles better. I think that is something learnt with experience. I haven't test driven yet and will be doing it this weekend. Should I still go with punto 1.3 multijet? How is the performance? And how is the cabin noise?
  2. PatchyBoy

PatchyBoy Esperto

Bangalore
    Firstly, welcome on board.

You say you have just learnt driving and you are about to buy your very first car. Congrats.

Coming to the magazine reviews - FIAT is seldom popular with magazines for unknown reasons. Please take magazine reviews with a pinch of salt. The Punto comes with FIAT legendary tank like build quality, decent space, excellent road manners, wallet friendly mileage and last but not the least, class leading safety. So what if it is 2-3 seconds slower in 0-100 numbers? Does that really matter? After all, how many times do you need to drive as if on a race track? By choosing the Punto, I believe you have made a right choice and will not regret it.

All the very best.

Rajan
    2 people like this.
  3. zenwalker

zenwalker Esperto

Bangalore
    Hello,

Welcome aboard. Congrats on the decision.