1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Beginner User Experience on Punto MJD

Discussion in 'Punto 1.3 MJD' started by cannonera, Mar 5, 2012.

1. cannonera

cannonera Amatore

Bangalore
    Hi,

I am a beginner in car driving, and own a 1.3 MJD, I am listing few of my observations and habits in car usage. Done around 200 Kms till date. Any tips to maintain the car and also driving it better are most Welcome....
    • The "H" in the odometer disappears after 200 Kms.
    • Very Short 2nd gear and an even shorter 1st. But great torque in both these gears. I use the Handbrake-Gear-Accelerator method for climbing inclines, almost always accomplished in first gear.
    • I maintain rpm's below 2000 and try not to exceed 60-70 kmph.
    • Follow the 'Start Idle' and 'Stop Idle' for a minute.
    • Following the Full Clutch Depress method for Starting...
    • Almost missed a person walking from my right ahead of me in a signal, couldn't sight because of A-Pillar, any tips to overcome this...
    • Currently keeping the AC in Level 2, I have seen in reviews that the AC is very good, does normal city drive require the AC to be in Level 2?
    • Doing only a plain water wash, can you suggest any product for basic car care.
    I have a small confession to make, got the car to skim/scratch its engine compartment yesterday, felt bad for it :-(

Looking to take the car for a long drive around Bangalore over the weekend, plan to be back the same day... Can you suggest anything suitable...

Regards,
    Hari
  2. ramjn

ramjn Staff Member Janitor

Chennai
    Linea 1.3
    Maintaining the RPM below 2000 is really not mandatory. There is no run-in required for the modern cars. What you may need to ensure is that accelerate slowly to go higher speeds instead of hard acceleration.

Start Idle is also not recommended. You can keep moving your car slowly soon after starting it. Stop Idle for 1 minute is fine.