1. Introducing the smashing new Team FIAT T-Shirt !! To order yours click here : Team FIAT T-Shirt

Afterburner for the T-Jet.

Discussion in 'Modifications & Tuning' started by Linea-Lover, Aug 4, 2011.

1. I have been driving around in the T-Jet for quite some time now, read 4.8k kms, and the turbo lag in it is just killing me. I have been driving Normally Aspirated (NA) engines for the past 14 years and am used to the low end torque and effortless driving. At times its a bit scary when you are at a signal and the guy in front pulls off and you struggle till the turbo kicks in. The one behind you starts honking like a maniac. Then suddenly there is this surge of power and the car starts flying and you look up front to find that the fellow just braked. Its damn painful. I had to get rid of this, not the car but the turbo lag.

If I come to highway drives, its again the same story. You're cruising at 80 kmph and feel like overtaking a car which is doing 81 in front of you. The engine is revving at a tad under 2k rpm. The turbo comes to full life at around 2250. The solution is to keep the car cruising at 100kmph so that the turbo is available to help you as and when required but that is not possible all the time.

UGH, I miss my OHC. But the way the T-Jet handles and corners is just brilliant. Its so confidence inspiring, the ride is absolutely smooth.... blah blah blah, which everyone knows by now. The solution to the problem is to rectify the low end torque of the car so that it aids moving in slow traffic and on highways you have sufficient power in any rev band.